New Apartment

I’m pretty excited because I am moving into my new place today and I’m stoked about decorating it.  My wonderful brother Kenneth is coming down from Northern California tomorrow morning to help me move and it is definitely going to be a full day!  I’ve been hitting some vintage shops and looking for some fun lamps and accessories to dress the place up a bit.  It’s going to be my first time living by myself so I get to decorate it all by myself!  I did a bit of shopping today in Venice and on 4th street in Long Beach.  I found an adorable store called Harmony’s Cottage which had lots of fun dolls, stationary and buttons.  Not having a place for this past few days has really thrown me off but as soon as I’m settled I’m sure things will get back to normal quickly.  I’ve made a few dishtowels and coasters from the Interweave Knitted Gifts book that I got for Christmas but otherwise I’ve just been working on Sarah’s Elephant, called Eddie the Elephant from the book Knitted Toy Tales by Laura Long.  I’ve made just about the whole thing, only with green sparkly yarn of course, but I think I messed up the gauge because you can see some of the stuffing through it so I guess I’ll have to frog it and start over…. 😦  I really like the shape of it though.  The book Knitted Toy Tales has by far the best stuffed animal patterns that I’ve found and I definitely would recommend it to anyone interested in knitting stuffed animals.  I bought the book for the Three Hungry Bears pattern but the other animals are pretty cool too!

I’ve visited a few yarn stores and after reading The Friday Night Knitting Club, a guilty pleasure, I was inspired to make knitting more of a social event.  I’m going to try and go to a group or knitting workshop.  I’ve had this itch to knit continental style lately so I think I might do a class.  I went to Knitculture in LA which I thought was pretty awesome.  The store was arranged by color and the salespeople were super helpful!  I bought some easy care merino which I’m going to use for baby booties and caps for my soon-to-be niece or nephew.  Also, I finally took the plunge and went to Alamitos Bay Yarn Company, which is the closest yarn store to me.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to take a class or workshop with them.  I bought some rose colored tweed yarn which I don’t have a project in mind for yet but I’ll loved it too much to pass on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

