Studying Away

It’s been a while since I’ve posted because school has been  intense so far.  I’ve been spending my Mondays and Tuesdays at Viento y Agua on 4th Street studying and it has turned out to be a pretty effective studying method, but I suppose I’ll see exactly how effective after my first midterm next week.

So I’ve had a fantastic idea about some things that I can to to help study and remain creative at the same time.  I study very well by writing and re-writing things on flashcards or notebooks.  With this in mind, I’ve decided to try and make sense of some of the material that I’ve been learning this semester by making my own visual aids, basically posters.  I need to find some way to keep myself intrigued with this subject matter and I think that creative visual aids is the way to go for me (I am a VERY visual learner).  I had this idea today when I was studying in the library to make a giant timeline that I can hang on my wall. The timeline idea came into play because I’m having some trouble remembering the major stages of language development from infancy to adulthood.  I get the major things, but I need a constant reminder of the little things that I tend to look over when I’m studying the text.  I am thinking of making this timeline with acrylics and scraps of whatever else come into mind.  This is just an idea for now so I’ll post some pictures of how it comes out tomorrow when I get started on it before work.  I’m going to start sketching out what goes where, but for now I’m thinking it will be broken into thirds starting with infancy, then toddlerhood, then school age and adolescence sharing a third.  I think that each age will cover form, content an use.  I’m excited to get started!  I’ll be sure to post my progress tomorrow!!

Also, tomorrow morning I’m stoked to go try out a yoga class with my friend from school.  We’re going to a class at Yogaworks in Costa Mesa.  I’m ashamed to say that it’s going to be my first time going to a yoga class for about a month and a half (although I have been doing some stuff on my own).  Still, nothing compares to the community of being in a class.  I’m so excited!!

Leave a Reply

