DIY Yo Gabba Gabba Christmas Decorations

Yep, we have 2 toddlers in the house who are STILL talking about Yo Gabba Gabba Live which they went to go see at the end of the month in November.  So, I decided it was time to make some Yo Gabba Gabba ornaments to add some Gabba cheer to our HUGE Christmas tree.  At first I thought I’s make them as a craft that the kids could help with, but I soon realized that they were a little too complicated for the little ones due to all of the little details and tiny eyes.  I decided to make all of the characters plus DJ Lance and Leslie Hall (Lex ha been OBSESSED with her since Gabba Live).  Here’s the materials that I used in case anyone is interested in making some of their own.  Overall the project was pretty easy and straightforward 🙂

You will need:

Tacky glue

large popsicle sticks

various colors of tempera paint

clear packaging tape

colored markers

some googly eyes (one large and 4 small)

Glitter to mix with the paint (if you want to make Leslie Hall….we did)

Brown yarn (for Leslie’s hair)

Fine point sharpie

White Sharpie paint pen

String to cut and make the hooks

Hot glue gun+hot glue (to glue to hooks)

The directions are pretty self explanatory.  I basically painted the sticks first, glued on the eyes and then added the final details using a sharpie.  For certain details, I had some white paper and sketched them out.  I then laminated them using the clear tape and glued them onto the characters.  The items I “laminated” were: Foofa, Toodee, Plex and Brobee’s eyes; Brobees mouth and spikes; Foofa’s flower; Leslie’s lips; Plex’s antenae; and Toodee’s ears.  I also glued the googly eyes and hair onto Muno, DJ Lance and Leslie Hall.  After glueing all of these parts on, I went in with the fine point sharpie and drew mouths and other details.  I drew the eyelashes onto Foofa and Toodee as well.  Finally, I went in with the white Sharpie paintpen and touched up the teeth on Muno and Toodee, Leslie Hall’s belt and some of the details on DJ Lance.  The last step when everything is dry is to hot glue some hooks on the back.  I made mine out of yarn.  This was a fun project that yielded some fun results!  The kids LOVE them 🙂

If anyone has suggestions for making some glasses for Leslie that would be great!

Yo Gabba Gabba Christmas Ornaments GabbaXmasontree GabbaXmas DJLance&leslie

Leave a Reply

