Cool Ruffled Lamp

I’ve recently become obsessed with decorating my apartment and I keep changing my mind about how I’m going to do it.  I keep finding all of these cool ideas but I really want the whole room to come together, rather then have few cool items.  I LOVE going thrift shopping, but I’m starting to feel like my house is looking a little bit like an old lady’s house (mostly because of the yarn and knitting stuff everywhere).  I used to really like french country design, however I think that’s really hard to do right. Especially when I’m trying to stay away from the old lady image.  I’ve recently discovered mid century and I’m hooked.  I’ve always appreciated mid century design, I just never knew that it was called mid century.  I’ve been researching it a lot and the more I see, the more I like.  I’ve also really been getting into DIY projects so I’m going to start posting some of those on here too,  starting with this lamp that I just finished this morning.  I have the before and the after and I’m really happy with the result.  Burlap is becoming one of my favorite textiles because it so natural looking.  I like the way the natural burlap contrasts with the blue that I selected as the lamp base.  I found the tutorial for making this lamp here on a blog called Tatertots and Jello.

3 responses to “Cool Ruffled Lamp

  1. Amazing job!!! I love the burlap shade. Such a neat idea and a great addition to your beautiful apartment 🙂

    Like

  2. I can’t wait to see it!! Maybe Tuesday I can come up? xoxo

    Like

Leave a comment